Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.


  • Updated
  • 0

Coach Dana X. Bible arrived at A&M from LSU and the move paid immediate dividends. A&M's offense proved formidable with M.H. "Ox" Ford at tackle, Heine Weir at quarterback and the dominant Jack Mahan and Roswell Higginbotham in the backfield. A&M opened up the year with a 40-0 blowout of Austin College. J.D. McMurrey scored and Jim Kindrick added two more touchdowns. The team then defeated Dallas University, Southwestern and LSU by a combined total of 170-0. J.W. Rollins threw for a touchdown and the team blew out Tulane the following week, then slipped by Baylor, 7-0. A fourth-quarter run from Higginbotham set up a score and was the difference in a 7-0 victory over Texas — the Aggies' fifth over the Longhorns in seven seasons. The Aggies capped the perfect season with a 10-0 win over undefeated Rice. A&M finished the year 8-0, outscored its opponents 270-0 and won the conference championship. According to The Fighting Texas Aggies by Gene Schoor, "Sportswriters called the team the greatest scoring machine in Southwest football history."

Jack Mahan

Jack Mahan starred at fullback for A&M.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.