Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Today in Aggie History, Nov. 18: Twelve Aggies killed when Bonfire fell

Today in Aggie History, Nov. 18: Twelve Aggies killed when Bonfire fell

  • Updated
  • 1
Bonfire site

Nov. 18, 1999: Bonfire collapsed at 2:42 a.m., killing 12 Aggies: Christopher David Breen of Austin; Christopher Lee Heard of Houston; Miranda Denise Adams of Santa Fe, Texas; Jerry Don Self of Arlington; Michael Stephen Ebanks of Carrollton; Bryan Allan McClain of San Antonio; Jamie Lynn Hand of Henderson; Lucas John Kimmel of Corpus Christi; Chad Anthony Powell of Keller; Timothy Doran Kerlee Jr. of Bartlett, Tenn.; Nathan Scott West of Bellaire; and Jeremy Richard Frampton of Turlock, Calif.

A memorial stands on campus to remember them.

Go here for more coverage of Bonfire history.

Nov. 18, 2004: A memorial on the site of the Bonfire collapse was dedicated to the 12 Aggies who died.

Nov. 18, 1938: The first city government election was held for the newly incorporated College Station, according to A Centennial History of Texas A&M University by Henry Dethloff.

Nov. 18, 1956: Former Texas A&M kicker Tony Franklin was born. Franklin played for the Aggies from 1975 to 1978. He is best known at A&M for kicking barefoot and his ability to make field goals from long distances. He holds the top three school records for longest field goals: 65, 64 and 62 yards.

Nov. 18, 1989: Former Texas A&M running back Cyrus Gray was born. Gray played for the Aggies from 2008 to 2011. He is fourth in school history with 3,298 career rushing yards.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.